crochethappy

Just another WordPress.com site

Amigurumi Crazy!

on May 9, 2012

So, here’s my big, geeky confession… I’m the Facilitator (like an acting President, kind of) of a local Star Wars fan club.

I crocheted Yoda! I used this pattern: http://www.happytogethercreates.com/2010/04/little-yoda-crochet-tutorial.html

Image

Here he is! He makes me want to go “Awwww!”

I also decided to make these little chicks, which turned out not to be super little and also don’t look super great (to me), but they’re kinda cute. My favorite part is their cute little tails!

Image

They definitely need some hair on top. I think it will make them much cuter! My sister suggested it. She’s a good craftiness consultant.

Here’s that pattern (mine aren’t as cute!): http://bittersweetblog.wordpress.com/2007/02/19/birds-of-a-feather/

Then I made some baby toy loops for a friend. They are sort of like these, but not quite the same.

Pattern: http://herbsthandmade.blogspot.com/2009/01/crochet-tutorial-loop.html

Here are mine:

Image

They have jingle bells inside!

In other news, I graduated with my Bachelor of Science in Mathematics on Saturday! Now I have two months free before starting my Master of Arts in Teaching program. I see crocheting in my future. 😉

Future goals: More Star Wars characters, a graduation gift for my sister (who just finished her MAT, the degree I’m about to start), something game-y for my husband for his birthday, maybe some baby booties to keep around for whenever I need some (just plain white ones probably).

RE: Baby booties — My great grandmother did that, kept a supply of booties for whenever a new great grandbaby or great-great grandbaby was born. She’d mail them all around the country when another baby joined the family. I have a bag of her booties that I’m saving for when my sister and I have children. Hers are adorable too… I don’t think she had patterns for them. I saw her making them and blankets and doilies, etc. I don’t recall her using patterns often. She was in her early 90s. I think she’d been crocheting so long she just knew what to do in her head. One day maybe I’ll get there!!! (90 and crocheting from my head)

One response to “Amigurumi Crazy!

  1. J6891 says:

    I love Yoda and the chicks! They’re fab!

Leave a Reply

